Teenagers do more than homework

I’ve written about why I hate that I have a Georgia “G” on my debit card before. Awkward conversations with strangers equals uncomfortable, so I like to avoid them at all costs. However, today I had a great conversation started by the good ol’ debit card. It went like this:
cashier: “wow, you all have had some really crappy* years”
me: “yes we have…and its embarrassing”
cashier: (random info on why he knows about UGA football) “so what’s the answer?”
me: “I think we may need to get rid of Coach Richt, which frankly breaks my heart”
cashier: “You should call the alumni association and make it happen.”

You know why this conversation was acceptable? Because he didn’t give me some lame “let’s argue about our team rivalries, even though we don’t know one another” banter, nor did he give me a disapproving look or try to convert me. He said it like it was.

Anyhow, all that got me thinking about my interactions with strangers. And here’s what I concluded. I was glad the man didn’t ask me what my job was. I never really know what to say. When I tell people I work in youth ministry, they don’t really have a category for what that looks like and I’m always met with the same question which I really don’t know how to answer: “So, you like help them with their homework?” What I am supposed to say to that? I mean I guess sometimes I do help kids with their homework, but not that often and it doesn’t even begin to encompass the purpose of my job.

The problem really isn’t peoples’ perception of my job. They don’t understand my job because they don’t understand teenagers. Do people really think that what makes up the majority of students’ lives is struggling with their homework? It doesn’t. Not even close. It’s sad to me that adults are so distanced from teenagers that they can’t wrap their minds around what plagues their hearts.

I’ve always struggled with the gap between adults and teenagers. They have so much in common. I find that more and more as I get older. It’s not just adults that have idols. It’s all humanity. It’s not just teenagers that struggle with submission to authority. It’s all humanity. Teenagers need the life lessons of grown ups. They need to see a picture of what it looks like to make it out of growing pains, braces and awkward dances. They need to begin to understand that all of life is about “growing up” and even those who are adults are still learning what that means. They need to see that maturity is less about a number on a driver’s license and more about relying on the Lord. But I would argue that adults need students, too. They need to be reminded of passion and idealism and ideas. They need to see enjoyment of life and the wisdom that comes from living a life of practical dependence (when was the last time you had to ask to use your mom’s car and got a reply of “I’ll drop you off?”).

They’re is so much to learn and the gap just seems to be widening. I’m thankful for the church, because she seems to have caught on to this problem and is seeking to find a way to fill the gap. I hope that we, the church, will set an example for the world in this, because our students are talented and smart and loving others in a bold way. How beautiful it would be to invest in that, rather than simply “helping them with homework.”

*he didn’t say crappy…he used the s-torpedo, but I’m a Southern gal and just couldn’t bring myself to put it in type (even though I have little problem saying it in real life**)
**in appropriate settings with its appropriate use

Leave a comment